Bihar assembly election 2020: NDA seat-sharing pact sealed, Nitish Kumar jabs ex-ally Chirag Paswan

Chief Minister Nitish Kumar reminded Lok Janshakti Party that its founder Ram Vilas Paswan had reached the Rajya Sabha with support of the JD (U)

10 Oct 2020 |  35

The Janata Dal (United), or JD (U), will contest 122 seats and the Bharatiya Janata Party 121 seats in the 243-member assembly, Bihar chief minister Nitish Kumar said on Tuesday. At a joint press conference with BJP leaders, Nitish Kumar said the JD (U) will allot seven seats to Jitan Ram Manjhi’s Hindustani Awam Morcha (Secular) out of its share of seats. This effectively means that JD (U) would be contesting 115 seats, the number it won in the 2010 elections. The Bihar assembly elections will take place on October 28, November 3 and November 7, with vote-counting set for November 10. “The BJP is in talks with Mukesh Sahni’s Vikassheel Insaan Party and their tickets will be adjusted from the BJP quota of seats,” Kumar said as he also reaffirmed that the “strong bond” between the BJP and the JD (U) was intact. People in the BJP familiar with the situation said the Vikassheel Insaan Party (VIP) will get a maximum of nine seats and a minimum of seven. The BJP contested 157 seats in 2015, when the JD (U) was not a part of the NDA, and 102 seats in 2010. The BJP and the JD (U), which are fighting the upcoming Bihar assembly election together after Nitish Kumar broke away from the so-called grand alliance of the Rashtriya Janata Dal and Congress and returned to the NDA in 2017, put up a united front on Tuesday.

Hot Videos